My Rodeo

My Rodeo
This is not my first Rodeo, but it is the first Rodeo where I am the one as the patient. I heard the words on Wednesday, August 8 from Dr. Gray. The grapefruit size tumor is malignant. And it is too big to cut out. This was after spending 4 nights of the previous week in two separate hospital after first thinking I had food poisoning. This was after having been scanned, poked, probed, and the subject of a liver biopsy that caused a bleed out and almost took me out. Thankfully the Doll was alert to my danger and called 911 in time to save me.

I lost my mother to lung cancer in 1991. She was a long-time smoker and lived about a year after diagnosis. I also lost several of my Mom’s siblings to various cancers. They all smoked or used tobacco. That is one reason I quit smoking over 40 years ago.
I lost my wife Teresa to a very rare and aggressive vaginal Melanoma in 2010. She lasted about 9 months after diagnosis. We pursed aggressive treatment that included brutal chemotherapy treatment and she was even in a clinical trial at New York Sloan Kettering Hospital right before she died.

I wrote two blogs prior to this one. The first was one to journal Teresa’s condition and her treatment. https://www.caringbridge.org/visit/teresajohnson

The second one was for me to journal my grief and loss after Teresa passed. https://sanetomostlycrazy.wordpress.com/

If you would like to get a sense of my writing from a vulnerable position you might want to sample these. Not much editing here but from my heart. Both served as therapeutic for me during the worst of times and allowed me to communicate efficiently with family and friends. I hope this blog will also serve me in that capacity and to also allow me the ability to keep people informed.

So, no this isn’t my first rodeo. And not Shelia’s either. She lost her baby girl, Mandy to a very rare and aggressive cancer too. Plus, as you may know Shelia was diagnosed with Stage IIIC breast cancer a little over a year ago and has went through chemotherapy, radiation therapy, and is undergoing hormone therapy now. So now I have been pulled off the bench and put in the game. Its my time to fight!

Teresa labeled Cancer as a Monster. She was right because a monster is unfeeling, treacherous, and scary. Fighting the monster is the expected course of action and hopefully you gentle readers will be with me during my fight. Here goes MY RODEO! https://myrodeo366889145.wordpress.com

I have been facing a very serious medical condition and I have not been able to let everyone know much about it since the information has been changing from day one. What I have is hepatocellular carcinoma (Liver Cancer probably due to fatty liver disease). Mine is considered mid stage since it is contained in the liver, but the tumor is too large and in an area that prevents it from being resected surgically.

I have been scheduled for procedures that will place radiation right on the tumor by accessing it up through my groin with a catheter into my hepatic artery. This is a process to hopefully shrink the tumor and allow the surgeon to remove it. The first procedure is scheduled for next Thursday at UT Hospital. There is also a possible procedure where the chemo drug called Doxorubicin is placed right at the tumor with the same intended result. This is the one that Shelia had for her Breast Cancer and it is called the “red devil”

In the meantime, I am scheduled to be in New York at Sloan Kettering on Monday and Tuesday to meet with a team of doctors to get a second opinion and possible alternative treatments.

Although I have no real illusion that there is an easy cure, or even a realistic chance of a cure, I remain positive. I plan to aggressively fight the Monster and be around to amuse you for some time.

 

Thank You for your prayers, thoughts, good vibrations, and healing energy my friends!

28 thoughts on “My Rodeo

  1. My prayers and thoughts are with you and your family, Jim. I’ve been through the cancer route, along with many members of my family, I was very blessed to recover. So I know to some degree what you’re going through. Many hugs too! Rhonda

    Like

  2. Love to you and Sheila, Jim! Anything we can do for you, let us know. You are an amazing man and we all have faith in your strong spirit conquering this monster!

    Like

  3. Will be with you on your journey and sending love/hugs/prayers to you and Shelia & family. My life verse is “Trust the Lord and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and he will direct your path.” Many times I did not know where my path would take me but the Lord goes ahead of us Jim. I am sure you do not understand the diagnosis, or why me, why now but we just have to stay positive and do the best we can. For me I find it helpful just to try and trust the Lord. Not always easy but what other choices do we have.

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing Jim. I am thankful to be a part of your fight, if only as a spectator. But this spectator prays to the God who creates and the God who heals. We don’t always get what WE want, but I will be in prayer that He will be blessed through your journey. Lookout for unexpected journeymen along the way…..

    Like

  5. I love you guys so much. Mammaw, Rose, and I have been talking and thinking about you non-stop so thank you for using this to keep everyone informed. I will be working with Tony to find a way to bring Rose to visit you within the next couple of weeks. I’m glad you have those two sweet babes at home to keep your spirits up. So much love to you guys. ♥️♥️♥️♥️

    Like

  6. Jim,
    I am sending prayers and positive thoughts to you and your family during this scary time. You are an amazing person. Cheering you on as you begin this journey

    Like

  7. Jim and Shelia just know that you have an Awesome group of friends and supporters and I am one. I’ve lost my husband and Dad to cancer and they both were fighters. You can beat this! I wish I could offer more than prayers, positivity and hugs but know you are both in my heart.

    Like

  8. I want you and Sheila both to know that I am praying for you and always remember God is in control. I love you both and if either of you need anything please let me know and I will try my best to do it for you.

    Like

  9. Buddy, I am so sorry this but I will be praying for and Sheila for comfort and peace and a complete healing.
    Love & Prayers.
    Vickie

    Like

  10. I am so sorry to hear to hear this. I will definitely be praying God gives you lots of strength and peace as you navigate this hard season.
    My sister in law is going through treatment at UT medical for breast cancer right now. Was just there with her yesterday as she is starting her journey with chemo on Friday.
    Thank you for sharing this with us. God is near.
    Love you both…

    Like

  11. Most of your story just leaves me without words other than to let you both know that I love you both very much. You are very special people and I pray that you have many, many years more together to enjoy each other and life. I pray that the love of others will lift you above this illness and bring your though on the other side. Much love to you both.

    Like

Leave a comment